Recipe: Breakfast Sausage Patties

Fat Man and I are big fans of MacDonald’s Sausage McMuffin. I think a lot of people out there will agree that Sausage McMuffin would be THE hangover solution. I am here imploring for Mac Donald’s to bring back the double Sausage McMuffin with egg!!! I was brain storming on breakfast ideas as Fat Man was badgering me for some eggs and sausages. Suddenly it dawned upon me that I should make my own breakfast sausage patties. Surely it ain’t too difficult? A quick search on the internet yielded some decent recipes. I studied them and came up with my own version. I got some organic minced pork from Swiss Butchery which cost a bomb, but it was good! And psychologically it makes me feel better because I am eating some organic pig that was living happily in some farm and roaming around freely. Just saying.

Breakfast sausage patties
For the patties
400g minced pork
2½ tsp fresh sage
2tsp fresh thyme
1 tsp salt
¾ tsp chilli powder (or paprika)
1 tbsp maple syrup
1 tsp black pepper
For frying:
1 tbsp olive oil

1. Mix all the ingredients together. Cover and refrigerate for at least 2 hours before use. Best to leave it overnight.

2. Heat 1 tablespoon of olive oil in a medium non-stick pan. Form 4 patties and fry on each side for about 4 minutes each, till the patties are nicely browned. (You know they are cooked when the juices are clear when you stuck a knife in.)

3. Serve on butter english muffins with a slice of american cheese. Serves 2 hungry people or 4 not so hungry ones.

Leave a Reply

