Singapore: Kith Cafe (Park Mall)

Was waiting for my scary MRI results on a Saturday morning. Having a couple of hours to spare, I brought Fat Man to Kith Cafe at Park Mall. This was one of the few cafes that open this early (9am) around Orchard area. We passed by Tim Ho Wan and were horrified to see at least 20 people in the queue waiting for the dim sum restaurant to open. Was it really worth the wait???? I must say I have better things to do than to waste my time queuing for dim sum. It may be a one Michelin star restaurant, but at the end of the day it was just a MK dim sum shop which got lucky. That’s my opinion at least.

We chose the outdoor seating area as it was still early morning, so temperatures aren’t soaring high. Coincidentally, both of us ordered the iced honey latte. The latte was good. Judging from the color, I thought it would be very milky, but it turned out strong and smooth. Pity they did not bother to stir in the honey, thus most of it was at the bottom of the cup. It was a bit difficult to stir honey into a cold drink. I made a mental note to just order an iced Ham and cheese toasties latte instead next time.  I got the green eggs with multigrain toast while Fat Man got ham and cheese toasties. The toasties evoked his fond childhood memories of eating these “UFO”toasts with ham, cheese and diced tomato. Kith’s version of toasties was slightly more grown up, and consist of ham, sliced cheddar and tomato (originally contains pineapple but we switched it) in wheat toast. You can’t quite go wrong with this combination, especially when they made on the spot. It was a nice touch to have a side of grapes.

Taste wise, the eggs were fine, and I loved the multigrain toast too. The scrambled eggs were green due to the swirl of pesto. Portions are reasonably big, and the tomato salad was fresh. However, I found hair in my food. Twice. The first strand was on the tomato, and then I found another one in my eggs. Argh. That was terrible. I brought up the matter to the waiter and they apologised profusely, offering to make me another order. I refused, as I was nearly done with the meal anyway. At least I didn’t eat the hair, but can’t help feeling disgusted nevertheless. Chefs should always be mindful of such incidents and try to keep their hair short/tied up/ netted. Due to the location of the cafe and the overall experience, I won’t come back specially for a meal. However, I may drop by for a drink if I am in the area.

One thought on “Singapore: Kith Cafe (Park Mall)

  1. Greetings from Los angeles! I’m bored at work so I decided to check out your site on my iphone during lunch break.

    I love the information you present here and can’t wait to take a look when I get home.
    I’m amazed at how fast your blog loaded on my phone
    .. I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyways, good site!

Leave a Reply

