Taipei: Fu Hang Dou Jiang (阜杭豆漿)

Fat Lady and Fat Man goes Taipei! I did my research and seen from several blogs that this place gets two thumbs up from everyone. In fact, one blogger remarked that if you live in Taipei, this is one breakfast that you must not miss out. The queue here is notorious, easily up to 50 people at a time. Since my flight to Taipei reaches early on Saturday morning, I planned to go queue up and get breakfast since Fat Man was only reaching at noon. It was a rainy Saturday, with weather reports indicating that Typhoon Usagi will be heading to Taipei in the afternoon.

After storing my luggage at the hotel, I took a cab to Fu Hang, which is actually a stall in the food court. This food court is situated on top of a market. The queue was already snaking down the stairs when I reach, and so I stood in line like the rest. There was only about 20 people in queue so it wasn’t too bad. Probably the typhoon deterred some people from coming. Luckily, I only waited about 10 – 15 minutes before my order was taken. While waiting, I stood ogling at the staff baking the shao bings in clay ovens as quickly as they could to satisfy the hungry morning crowd. First time trying the savory soy, I was pleasantly surprised at how much I liked it. From the name, I had the impression that this was like a soy milk, except that it is savory. Instead, I was given something that resembled beancurd in savory soup. Add in a drizzle of chili oil to give the dish some heat. Wow it is good! Given the rainy weather, it was especially comforting. The thick shao bing was another winner as well. I took a bite in the fluffy warm bun and I was in heaven. The one I got had an omelette in between. Some people even make it a shao bing deluxe version by adding in a you tiao as well.

I got a sweet flaky biscuit for Fat Man and he loved it too. We also tried the cold soy milk and it was one of the best I ever had. Definitely coming back here again to try other items on the menu. This place is a must try for anyone visiting Taipei!

Leave a Reply

