Taipei: Old Sichuan (巴蜀麻辣燙。老四川)

Sliced beef
Sliced beef

This is an awesome place. Fans of spicy Sichuan mala hot pot cannot miss out this place when they are in Taipei. Fat Man and I were planning to head to Kee Lung to check out their night market on our last night in Taipei but we decided to put that plan on hold as Fat Man wanted to have some authentic mala hot pot. I did some quick research and booked Old Sichuan for late dinner. Again, we were instructed that dining time is restricted to 1.5 hours.

Awesome appetizer
Awesome appetizer

When we arrived at 1030pm, the place was already more than half filled. That was a good sign. We ordered quickly, taking into account our limited dining time. The waitress then came by with complimentary chilled noodles and eight treasures tea. The chilled mung bean (I think) noodles are known as 凉粉, which is a staple in Sichuan style food. I love the version served here. It was sour and spicy with crunchy peanuts….. And the dish was also my pitfall that night, as these noodles can fill you up very quickly. I practically finished the dish myself, before we even started with the hotpot. By the time I had my first slice of beef, I was more than half full. Also, the duck blood cubes and tofu in the spicy broth was so damn good!!!!! Refills are free as well.  I think I can happily just eat these freebies as a meal on its own.

So good!!
So good!!

I didn’t managed more than 4 slices of beef. Argh!  Do note that the portions here are quite big so it ain’t difficult to over order! The combination vegetable platter was huge. There was no way we could even finish half of it. The squid paste we had were pretty good too. Fat Man ate most of the paid food that night, while throwing random sarcastic comments about how I binge on the freebies. Whatever. The total bill came up to less than TWD1,000, which is a steal compared to the ones in Hong Kong. We will definitely be back again the next time we come to Taipei.

Yuan yang hotpot
Yuan yang hotpot
Leave a Reply

