Hong Kong: Como Como (Causeway Bay)

 

One time complimentary toiletries
One time complimentary toiletries

I have finally moved to Hong Kong after nearly two years of shuttling back and forth! I am sure Fat Man will agree with me that the journey so far has not been easy. I am proud that we have come this far, but the best is yet to be! My company has been generous enough to provide me with a temporary accommodation. I chose to stay at Como Como in Causeway Bay due to its close proximity to my office. The other two choices given were 21 Whitfield and Shama at Fortress Hill. From their website, Como Como exuded a sort of mysterious feel, as the decor was dark and the pictures did not show much information.

View of room
View of room

I have been staying here for nearly a week and I must say it is quite a disappointing experience so far. When I arrived on Saturday evening, I was told by the staff that I was only supposed to check in the day after. After spending half a day on the plane, I was tired and just wanted get some good rest. Instead, I had to search for my email confirmation. Without saying much (and much less a smile), both staff then disappeared into the security room to enquire with the leasing manager. Fat Man and I were then left standing around like idiots. Not knowing how long they would take, we asked them if we could leave the luggage here first and go out for a meal while they sort things out. However, they replied that they do not look after luggage for customers. What kind of crap service is this???? Left with no choice, I sat there by myself while Fat Man left to park his car. Thankfully, they resolved it ten minutes later.

Kitchenette and small dining bar
Kitchenette and small dining bar

The studio was a decent size, and adequate for one or two guests. It is Hong Kong, so don’t expect anything big. As compared to Harbourview Place in Kowloon which I have stayed for 9 months, this place is nothing in comparison. Daily housekeeping service leaves much to be desired. The cleaning done hits the average mark at best. I could still see marks on my bowls and utensils, so I usually give them a second round of washing before use. Also, they do not bother to keep the pots and utensils after wash, and simply left them on the table.  There is no washing machine in the room, so laundry has to be done on the 3rd floor common laundry room. This can be slightly inconvenient. Towel change is twice weekly. When I left the towel on the floor, they simply folded it and left it on the shelf again. Not too sure what to say about that.  The roll up blinds used are not adequate to cover up windows. People in the neighbouring building can easily look in through the gaps. In addition, the room seem to be infested with silverfish bugs. I killed at least 3 in the past 4 days! Quite disgusted. Glad that I will be out of here in 3 weeks time. Definitely not coming back again for sure!!!!

Couch for watching TV
Couch for watching TV
P1090035
Bathroom
Shower area
Shower area
Leave a Reply

