Singapore: M Hotel

Welcome fruits and chocolates
Welcome fruits and chocolates

It is a little odd to be staying in a hotel while I am back for work this time. However, this is also a necessity, considering its close proximity to the office. While I will go home during the weekends, I definitely prefer staying at a hotel during my very busy work week. We chose to stay at M hotel due to its location (walking distance from office) and it also provided a pretty good deal (corporate rate + discounts on laundry and dining). When I first entered the hotel, I was slightly confused as I wasn’t too clear where the check-in desk was. The check-in also took quite some time as the staff seemed a little uncertain (for reasons unknown). She had to consult with her colleague before letting me go through the procedures. Oh well.

Room overview
Room overview

Entering my hotel room, my first impression was that it was pretty spacious, though the shape was slightly odd due to the building shape (I think). Next, I checked out the bathroom and was horrified to find the toilet bowl full of hair (??!!). My guess is that the housekeeping staff forgot to flush after cleaning. Then, I took out the bedroom slippers which were sealed in a plastic bag, only to find a curly hair (YUCKS) stuck to it. Disgusted, I threw it aside hastily. I admit that I am quite a hair-phobic person. During the 6 nights in the hotel, my colleague and I both agreed that the housekeeping here was quite poor, as there continued to be (lots of) hair (which are obviously not mine) in the bathroom, between bedsheets, even in the fridge. In addition, the rooms are not very sound proof as we could hear traffic, people slamming their hotel rooms and talking along the corridor. It was quite difficult to get a good rest. The design of the bathroom is quite odd as well. Due to the limited space, showering in the shower stand can be a challenge, especially if you are bigger than an average size Asian. Also, you can’t avoid wetting the bathroom floor after every shower, so treading carefully is a must. Of course, there is always the option of using the bath tub, which looks kind of unused and dirty.

P1090212

Breakfast selection at the cafe was only average. Sometimes, when the cafe is too crowded, the kitchen staff were unable to keep up with supply and there were often empty trays on the buffet table. Internet connection can be quite poor at times, plus the system automatically logs you out after a while, so it is quite annoying to have to keep entering the password.  Although we were committed to stay for a month, we checked out after a horrid week and went to another nearby hotel instead. The management tried to apologize and clean up the room, but we couldn’t imagine staying there for another 4 weeks. Thanks, but no thanks!

Bathroom with the ridiculously small shower.
Bathroom with the ridiculously small shower.
Cupboard with safe and a couple of drawers.
Cupboard with safe and a couple of drawers.
2 thoughts on “Singapore: M Hotel

Leave a Reply

