Singapore: Cocotte

 

Steak frites
Steak frites

October is always an awesome month to me as it is my birthday month! As a tradition, J and I will give each other a birthday treat at the restaurant of our choice. Since Jason is also an October baby, it means I have at least 2 good meals in October. Happy!! I picked Cocotte for my birthday treat this year. While it is not a new restaurant, it has been on my to-go list since it opened. It was nice to be able to check it out finally.

Located in boutique hotel Wanderlust off Little India, the restaurant also provides free valet parking service.  When we reached the hotel on a stormy Saturday night, fat droplets of rain was just starting to hit the streets. Wanting to rush into the restaurant to avoid getting wet, we passed the car keys to the valet, only  to get this response, “ Why don’t you make a turn and try to see if there are any parking lots in the next street?” Eh???? I thought that is your job! Seeing our puzzled expressions, the valet guy took our keys and proceeded to do the parking himself. We were promptly shown to our reserved seats. Scanning through the limited menu, we quickly decided on our starters and mains. The server recommended a tasting menu which didn’t look too interesting to us. Cocotte is clearly a restaurant more suitable for big groups as quite a few of the dishes were made for 2 or more.

Mussels in white wine
Mussels in white wine

J got an additional carrot soup which I didn’t try. He said it was not bad. I thought that the mussels were pretty good, although it would have been better if it came with a side of bread to mop up the briny sauce. The steak frites came with a side of salad and a bowl of fries. The steak was slightly underdone, going more towards rare than our original order of medium rare. It was a good thing that we are both okay with that, or else it would have been sent back to the kitchen. The pork collar with roast potatoes and brussel sprouts were alright (though I am not a big fan of Brussels sprouts). The accompanying mustard sauce was pretty mild tasting though the pork was wonderfully tender.

Pork collar with brussel sprouts and roast potatoes
Pork collar with brussel sprouts and roast potatoes

For dessert, we opted for chocolate cake and lemon meringue tart. I definitely preferred the tart as the cake was way too dry. That was such a disappointment as it looked so inviting! There were 2 tables having birthday celebrations that night so it was pretty noisy. Service staff were pretty friendly and efficient. While the food is generally decent, I probably will only come back again if I have a group gathering in order to try out the bigger dishes.

Lemon meringue tart
Lemon meringue tart
One thought on “Singapore: Cocotte

  1. Hello there! I could have sworn I’ve visited this web site before
    but after browsing through a few of the posts I
    realized it’s new to me. Anyways, I’m definitely happy I
    came across iit and I’ll be bookmarking it and checking back regularly!

Leave a Reply

