Melaka: Foodspotting in Melaka (Part 2)

Local style congee
Local style congee

The next morning, I woke up slightly earlier to try out the complimentary breakfast in Majestic Hotel. The restaurant is located above the reception counter. I wandered about for a free table and sat down tentatively. Scanning through the limited menu on the table, I had many considerations. While the murtabak and eggs benedict sounded delicious, I opted for porridge as I intended to have a second round of brekkie with F. There was also a small selection of items (toast, fruit etc) available at the buffet table but I didn’t touch them.

The porridge was not bad. A little too thick for my liking, It was pretty authentic as the locals with eat it this way as well, with some salted egg and tinned dace in black bean sauce.  In fact, eating it makes me feel a little homesick (even though I am not Malaysian) as I do eat similar things back home in Singapore every now and then. After breakfast, I hung out at the lobby while waiting for F. He was late, AS USUAL. Nibbling on the peanut cookies, I played Plants VS Zombies (2!) idly.

Fried stuff are the best stuff!
Fried stuff are the best stuff!

When he finally showed up, we walked to the coffeeshop nearby. It was already filled up. We shared a table with another couple and ordered from the stall selling all sorts of fried delicacies. I think the stall doesn’t have a name, so if you are there just head straight to the stall that sells fried stuff (there’s only one). F also ordered a set of kaya toast with eggs which I didn’t touch. I absolutely LOVED the fried yam thingy. Imagine a slightly sticky ball of yam with a crisp exterior. I am sure there are other ingredients in that though I am not sure what. Yums.

Nasi Padang
Nasi Padang

I went back to the hotel for a nap while F went for Sunday Mass. We met up again near noon, and set off to explore the maritime museum which was pretty much a waste of time. Then again, I wasn’t expecting much.  Next, we walked to this area near Hatten Hotel for lunch. I have no idea what the place is called, but they sell a mean nasi padang. The shop was already filled with families having lunch. We managed to squeeze next to a table of 8 and proceeded to queue up for food. My fish was really good, but there way too much bones that it becomes a potential health hazard to eat it. I gave up halfway.

You got to love a drink in a plastic bag.
You got to love a drink in a plastic bag.

After we are done with lunch, we headed back to Majestic Hotel area to queue up for the popiah outside King’s department store. There were already 10 people in line. I ordered F to queue while I got a water chestnut drink from the nearby drinks stall. Check out the rustic packaging. When it was finally out turn, F said we should just get 1 popiah. What a mistake as it was super good! Generous amount of fillings made of braised radish, egg, bean sprouts and fried lard. Not doing my body any favors with this but what the heck.

Our hard earned popiah
Our hard earned popiah

Our last meal in Melaka was the satay at the same coffeeshop near Majestic Hotel. I was really interested to try as they had pig intestine satay. That is something new to me! We ordered a mix of pork, chicken and intestine satay. They were good, and I really liked the satay sauce which was sweetened with the addition of pineapple. With this, I conclude my short trip in Melaka. I may want to come back again, as I know there are many eateries I did not explore. However, this time I will do more research first!

Mmm... satay!
Mmm… satay!
Leave a Reply

