Hong Kong: Upper Modern Bistro

Foie Gras Creme Brulee
Foie Gras Creme Brulee

This is another long due post. Fat Man and I visited Upper Modern Bistro last November after I saw posts of the luscious dessert tray offered as part of weekend brunch menu. I was attracted by the choices available and felt that it was time to check out this place as it has been on my to-go list for quite some time. Besides, they were just awarded 1 Michelin star so it should be a pretty good eh?

Ceviche
Ceviche

Anyway, to keep the story short, we arrived at the restaurant around 1230pm and were greeted warmly by the restaurant manager. After confirming our reservation, we were brought to our seats. The brunch menu consists of a range of appetizers, a choice of main course, as well as 3 sweets (per pax) from the dessert tray. While waiting for our dishes, we idly nibbled on the bread (which was very good) and sipped our bubbly. First up were oysters dressed in a ponzu sauce. As Fat Man doesn’t eat oysters, that means more for me! The oysters were very fresh, with a slight briny taste. I usually prefer eat my oysters naked so the sauce doesn’t mean much to me. The foie gras crème brulee was quite interesting, with the slightly charred and crackly surface. It was perfect with the accompanying crispy toast. However I prefer the pork trotters dip as it had very deep flavors of pork and lard. This dish definitely works for me. There were 2 other salads served as part of the menu and those were pretty forgettable. As in pretty BUT forgettable. The salads were garnished with flowers (hence pretty) but nothing spectacular, though the one with ceviche was alright. The smoked salmon on toast was nothing special either, I could have made that at home. The mussels in white wine sauce were below standard as the mussels were tiny and a little fishy though the sauce itself was okay. Fat Man happily dunked his bread in the sauce and just ate it on its own.

Pork trotter dip
Pork trotter dip

For main course, I chose the 63 degree egg with mushrooms, ham and toast while he got a squid ink risotto with octopus. Personally, I felt that my main course was a huge disappointment. I heard some rave reviews about this dish but I didn’t like it. Somehow, I felt that the ingredients in the dish did not complement each other.  The flavors did not come together and it was eating a bunch of mismatching items that happened to be in one plate. I guess that my point is plating an egg, mushrooms, ham and toast together doesn’t necessarily make it a proper dish. Fat Man’s risotto was very good in comparison. The risotto was cooked to perfection, with a deliciously chewy texture. The cauliflower was an interesting addition though.

Octopus risotto
Octopus risotto

Finally, it was time for dessert! The server brought a large tray of desserts to us, explaining each of the cakes and pastries. There were 7 choices available. Between the two of us, we tried 6 of them. The pistachio mousse cake and the tiramisu stood out amongst the rest. Three hours flew by while we enjoyed our leisurely brunch. After paying, we strolled out and moved to our next destination for coffee. Perfect way to spend our Sunday!

Desserts
Desserts
Leave a Reply

