Taipei: Chaiin Hotel (謙商旅。東門館)

Hotel sign can be spotted from the main road.
Hotel sign can be spotted from the main road.

I love Taiwan. This is what I declared over and over again ever since my first trip to Taipei a couple of years back. As such, I also chose Taiwan as my first solo trip destination. I just visited Taipei with Fat Man during the recent December holidays, but decided to revisit after CNY for my solo expedition. Okay, maybe expedition is a bit too exaggerated. Anyway, I did a five day solo trip, spending my first night in Taipei, before heading to Taichung for 2 days and then coming back again for another night in Taipei before heading back home.

Big and comfy bed
Big and comfy bed

After browsing Agoda and TripAdvisors about a hundred times, I finally chose Chaiin Hotel as my first night’s hotel stay due to its reasonably good location at a decent rate. Taking into consideration some comments online about how small the standard room was, I opted for the Business Room, which indicated that there will be no windows. The check in service was speedy and staff informed me that I could get my room earlier as it has been cleaned up already. Yay! That was a welcome surprise to me as I was exhausted after my early morning flight. Stepping into my room, I was also happy to find it to be quite big and with windows too (though there wasn’t much of a view, but I ain’t complaining)! The bed was a broad king size and pretty comfortable. The design of the room is modern and minimalistic, with the sink located outside the bathroom. A good range of amenities were provided, including even shaving kit and facial wash. The room has dark out curtains which I like as I personally prefers to sleep in super dark environment.

View from door
View from door

Water pressure in the bathroom was good, with lots of hot water available. I also like the cute map they have, which also serves as a frosted glass divider. The map shows the areas to visit around the hotel area, as well as dining choices. My stay also came with free breakfast at the hotel cafe, though that was nothing to shout about. I would rather eat at the Dong Men market behind the hotel and try out the local delicacies. On the whole, this hotel is still quite value for money and I would certainly recommend others to try it out as well.

P1100764
Shower area
Map showing Yong Kang Street and attractions surrounding the hotel.
Map showing Yong Kang Street and attractions surrounding the hotel.

 

Leave a Reply

