Singapore: So Sofitel

Comfy bed

Thanks to my office moving to the current new building, we are able to obtain corporate rates for So Sofitel and thus allowing me to try out this sort-of new hotel along Robinson Road on this business trip. Formerly the iconic telecommunications building TAS building, the hotel retained the historical exterior of the building but revamped the interior, transforming it into a hip and playful accommodation for its guests.

 

For this trip, I was staying in So Cosy, which was the lowest category of rooms. Still, I loved the design of the room as well as the hotel’s attention to details. For example, they have different sizes (plush) slippers for both male and female guests. Amenities unique to both female and male guests are also included in the pretty amenities box. Male guests can make use of the shaving kit while female guests have items like hair brush (comb for him), cotton pads and hair bands. Refreshments are free. They include a range of sweet and salty snacks, as well as soda and beer. There is also a coffee machine available. In addition, the hotel even have a board explaining the different types of local coffees (i.e. kopi in local terms) and how we can make these delicious concoctions in our room. (Then again, it is impossible because we are not provided with evaporate milk or condensed milk.)

Local kopi 101

There are a comprehensive number of channels available that are suitable for a range of international guests. The room lights can be controlled via the iPad mini provided in every room. I thought that was pretty cool. The telephone provided in the room is an iPhone.

Control the lights in your room with this nifty device.

Let’s now go into the not-so-good aspects of the hotel. In terms of design, I thought that the hooks in the bathroom were placed quite high up. While I am not exactly short (about 5ft 7”), I still have to reach up (without tiptoeing) to hook my towel. In my opinion, the toilet bowl itself was built way above ground. When I sit on it, my legs were swinging a good 2 – 3 inches above ground. That’s a little uncomfortable to me.   Housekeeping can also be improved. There were several instances where they did not clear my trash bin.

Bathroom

On the whole, my stay in Sofitel was decent but at such a steep price (SGD 320++, no breakfast), the value of this hotel is slightly on the low side, as compared to the surrounding hotels such as Fullerton and Swissotel.  However, its location in the heart of Singapore CBD may still attract business travellers who need to be around the various offices in that area.

The other side of the room.

 

3 thoughts on “Singapore: So Sofitel

  1. The Sofitel really looks good, but the prize tag is a little to high in my opinion as well. Especially because the rooms are a little small in my opinion.

    1. Yes I agree with you that the overall value is slightly low but given its location in the prime financial district area, I am sure there will still be plenty of business visitors.

      1. That’s it. Usually, the business visitors are the ones who pay enough to make a hotel survive. Guys doing a city trip are not that important. However, a good “addition”. Anyway, I’ll definitely have a look on the Sofitel when I’m travelling to Singapore, too 🙂

Leave a Reply

