Taipei: 喜多士豆漿蛋餅

Crispy pancake with egg

Although I have long declared 阜杭豆漿 to be Taiwan’s (heck, make that the world’s) best Taipei style breakfast, I felt the need to try out other local establishments available. After all, it is a pain to have to get up at wee hours of the morning to queue up for breakfast when I am on holiday. I have totally given up on Fat Man; there is no way he can wake up at 6am in the morning for breakfast, no matter how good it is.

Browsing through one of my favorite Taiwan blogs, I saw this breakfast place near 行天宮 which offered typical Taiwan style breakfast including items like 薄餅加蛋 and 飯糰. The breakfast timing for this local place is more reasonable, so Fat Man managed to get up and tag along with me this time.  喜多士is about 5 minutes’ walk from行天宮 train station. With the help of Google Maps, we found the place easily. Most of the people were queuing for takeaway, and we could get a seat easily in the tiny shop. At first, we were a little confused about how to order as we were simply shoved a laminated menu and asked to tick our orders. I guessed that the staff noted my confused face and pointed to the marker pens near the stall front.

The good stuff
The good stuff

Our orders came pretty fast, despite the long line of queue. I quite like the crispy thin pancake with egg (薄餅加蛋), and the addition of their secret sauce makes it even better. Filled with preserved vegetables, refried dough fritters and pork floss, the rice roll (飯糰) was too oily for my liking. I would much prefer it without the dough fritters, or if the dough fritters were not refried.  Fat Man’s subsequent order of carrot cake was pretty forgettable as well. I suppose I will only drop by for the pancake if I happen to be around the area, but it is unlikely I will purposely make my way over for breakfast again.  阜杭豆漿 is still my ultimate favorite so far!

Rice roll, Taiwan style
Rice roll, Taiwan style
Leave a Reply

