Taichung: Sights + Attractions

Canal near my hotel
Canal near my hotel

Though I only spent 3 days in Taichung, I grew to like this place. Unlike Taipei, there are no subways here. It took me a while to figure out the buses to take. I believe there is also a city bus that loops around the Taichung  city area. As such, moving around the city may take more time since the buses come at fixed timings and routes are long (depending on your destination of course). I was lucky to be in Taichung during the lantern festival, where the city held elaborate lantern displays in several areas. I managed to catch the one at Taichung park, and seeing  the bizarrely named Fa Boat, which was sponsored by Falungong. Ate through Feng Chia night market, and found out how awesome 大腸包小腸 is. Though I was travelling alone, there was never a dull moment. Instead, there was a new found sense of freedom. To walk around everywhere without having to bother to wait for another person. While there are long periods of silence, there is also a sense of peace and I loved it. From this year on, I hope to do a solo trip every year. ^^

Spring blossoms
Spring blossoms
Taichung station
Taichung station
Fa boat
Fa boat
Maple valley park
Maple valley park
Temple
Temple
Lantern display at Wuri High Speed Rail Station
Lantern display at Wuri High Speed Rail Station
Leave a Reply

