Taichung: La Vida Hotel

Good size room
Good size room

I scrolled through numerous hotels in Agoda before deciding on La Vida Hotel. As it was my first time in Taichung, I wanted to be extra careful so as to not end up in somewhere inconvenient. I took a cab from the Taichung High Speed rail station to the hotel directly. It was quite a distance away.

Clear glass wall looking into bathroom.
Clear glass wall looking into bathroom.

Walking into the spacious lobby, the décor was new and modern. The check-in counter staff informed me that I was upgraded to a deluxe room as the standard ones were full (yay!). Unfortunately, my room was not ready yet so I went out and explored the city straight away. When I got back in the evening, I flopped on my huge bed and rolled about. Very comfortable! The room was large as compared to the usual deluxe rooms you find in Taipei, with a separate shower stand and bath tub. It was certainly a luxurious treat for a lone traveller like me. The water pressure in the shower was excellent, with lots of hot water available. This was much needed as the weather was quite chilly during the few days I was there. I did not use the bath tub as it had a lone hair in it when I checked it out. The hairphobic (if there is such a word) refused to go near the tub.

Shower stand
Shower stand

La Vida’s blackout curtains allowed me to rest in complete darkness (not unlike a vampire). Lucky for me, there was not much noise to be heard from outside my rooms too.

Storage
Storage

The hotel is a 2 minute walk away from Feng Chia Night Market. I visited it every night to try out the various stalls. Not to be missed is also the daily breakfast that came with my room rate. The breakfast lounge is situated at the basement, and I was surprised at the size of it. There were plenty of choices to choose from, though I only stuck to eating Taiwan porridge as I want to leave some space for snacks I see while exploring around Taichung. This hotel definitely suited my needs as it was convenient (to me) and reasonably priced.

Leave a Reply

