Taipei: Cho Hotel (盯。記憶旅店)

Deluxe double room
Deluxe double room

During the last leg of my solo trip in Taiwan, I stayed at Cho Hotel in Ximen area. It is a tiny boutique hotel with even tinier rooms. Browsing through tripadvisor, I noted the general comments on their small rooms so I booked the business room in hope for something more spacious. Despite travelling alone, I do prefer something bigger.

P1110070

I walked past this hotel during my last Taipei trip and already had the idea of trying it out due to its ideal location (5 mins walk from Ximen subway station). Based on J’s recommendation, I ordered some items on Rakuten and had them delivered to the hotel. Prior to the delivery, I had several email correspondences with hotel staff and always get very quick responses from them. Kudos to their effort for ensuring the delivery was safe.

Shower stand
Shower stand

My business room was quite comfortable but still on the small side, as compared to Chaiin hotel (see review here). Considering that the price was slightly lower, I ain’t complaining. Besides, I was only going spend a night here. Amenities like toothbrush and comb can be found at front desk. Guests can pick up whatever they need.  The bathroom is quite big in comparison to the size of the bedroom. The huge drawing on the wall serves as the main décor in the room, depicting Taiwan life. There is no wardrobe and just a tiny table at the corner. If you are staying as a pair, you may have trouble with luggage space. As my room was facing the road, it was also quite noisy from the traffic below. It was a good thing I brought ear plugs with me! Due to the size of the room, I have to watch TV on my bed, and it was a little too close for my comfort. Then again, I was only there for one night so it was fine with me.

Guest pack that comes with postcards, Ximen map and a jigsaw puzzle piece for guests to design and decorate the hotel with.
Guest pack that comes with postcards, Ximen map and a jigsaw puzzle piece for guests to design and decorate the hotel with.

Breakfast takes place at a local café a couple of doors away from the hotel. I didn’t try it but from my understanding it should be just the usual sandwiches with coffee/ tea. In general, I thought Cho hotel was ok for short stays, as the location is good and prices are not very high. Service staff here is very warm and helpful. At the end of the trip, guests are invited to leave a piece of puzzle with their own drawing. Hopefully, I get to see mine on the wall the next time I am back!

Wall full of jigsaw pieces from various guests
Wall full of jigsaw pieces from various guests
Leave a Reply

