Shanghai: Grand Hyatt Shanghai

View of the Bund
View of the Bund

I had to make an impromptu trip to Shanghai late April last year and stayed at Grand Hyatt Shanghai. Fast forward to a year later, I visited Shanghai again this April. As our office is situated in Jinmao Tower, we stayed at GH again, purely out of convenience. The previous visit did not impress me and sad to say, neither did this visit.

The rooms were huge, but could use a facelift, as the one will easily notice the wear and tear on the furniture. Some of the channels in my room did not have any sound, and the internet connection breaks off every now and then. Service wise was polite, though not warm. I asked to speak to the reservations manager for our upcoming stay in May, but was made to wait for 15 minutes with no confirmation when he/she was able to see me. Frustrated, I left.

There are plenty of hotels in the area which we could stay in and I could only say that they will lose their business clients to competitors if they continue the way they do things.

Bedroom
Bedroom
Leave a Reply

